About Your PCN

The St. Albert and Sturgeon Primary Care Network was established in 2006 to enhance the delivery of primary care services. PCN member physicians work with a healthcare team including nurses, pharmacists, mental health nurses, dietitians, social workers, and other staff to provide maternity to end-of-life care, focusing on treating illness, managing chronic conditions, and maintaining wellness.

The St. Albert and Sturgeon PCN strives to be a leader in the community it serves by creating mutually beneficial relationships with key stakeholders. Through community partnerships, opportunities are leveraged to promote patient-centred service.

Our geographical service area is the City of St. Albert as well as Sturgeon County including Alcomdale, Bon Accord, Calahoo, Lancaster Park, Legal, Morinville, Namao, Riviere Qui Barre, and Alexander Reserve.


To deliver seamless, integrated healthcare for everyone.


We provide innovative, efficient and quality health care by delivering patient-centred care through the medical home and advocating for our community.


Quality, Service, Collaboration, and Integrity.

Definition of Success for the PCN

The St. Albert and Sturgeon PCN defines success as the development and implementation of patient-centred medical home where:

  • Patients are activated and engaged in ongoing health optimization and health promotion activities.
  • Patients are able to access the appropriate health and medical resources from the appropriate provider in a timely way.
  • Family physicians are supported by the appropriate resources (inter-professional team, information resources, technology infrastructure, funding model and access to specialist services) to function as the central hub for patient care, providing seamless coordination to an array of comprehensive health and medical services.
  • The PCN is a sustainable and successful model of service delivery, one that enhances clinical quality and primary care service delivery, proven by clinical evaluation.
  • The PCN works collaboratively with its community to support the health and wellbeing of patients by recognizing the impacts of the broader determinants of health.

Indigenous Peoples Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge that the SASPCN sits on Treaty 6 territory, traditional lands of First Nations and Métis peoples. As treaty People, Indigenous and non-Indigenous, we share the responsibility for stewardship of this beautiful land.

In accordance with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s 94 calls to action, the PCN is committed to creating an environment that is inclusive and culturally competent, promoting healthcare services for all individuals in an equitable fashion. Our Board of Directors dedicates time at each official meeting to reflect on one or more of these calls to action, and our staff meetings include dedicated time for reflection and education, in order that we might continue to improve as an organization.

Board of Directors 2023-2024

  • Dr. Alfred Durojaye – President
  • Dr. Chinwe Mbonu – President-Elect
  • Dr. Barbara Fischer – Past-President/Chair
  • Dr. Ben Macedo – Secretary/Treasurer
  • Dr. Krista Bennett – Director
  • Dr. Kellie Waters – Director
  • Dr. Allan McDonald – Director
  • Dr. Karl Ayton – Director
  • Michael Slocombe – Independent Director
  • Christina McDonald – Independent Director
  • Nora Johnston – AHS Governance Representative
  • Eleanor Risling – AHS Governance Representative